Winding Down 🌓

Processed with MOLDIVIt’s been a pretty good day. Not a “normal” day like I used to have before the monster arrived, but normal compared to the numbing madness of prior days. I ran errands, cleaned the house, and actually cooked. I had to fight the urge to just crawl back into bed and throw myself under the covers. Depression tapping away at me, reminding me it’s still there. But I ignored it like an invisible enemy, carrying on a playful conversation with my daughter as we ate. We sat perched at the kitchen island, scooping up spoonfuls of taco soup. We talked about our days. She is painfully aware of my struggle with depression, having had to deal with debilitating years of outbursts and suicide attempts. Yet here we sit, mother and daughter, bound so strongly together, yet the deadly threat of depression always threatening our relationship. I feel better anyway. It’s been a good day.

Leave a comment